"Say Little, Do Much" (Genesis 18-22)

These words epitomize the lives of Jeannette Schwab-Rosenhouse and Leo Rosenhouse. They lived quietly while amassing more than $10 million in investments. Through their will, Mr. and Mrs. Rosenhouse created an exciting opportunity for Sacramento-area high school seniors: the ability to pursue their educational dreams with the assistance of meaningful cash scholarships.

Learning has always held a special place within Judaism - a respect and appreciation for learning permeates Jewish life. Through the generosity and heartfelt kindness of Mr. and Mrs. Rosenhouse, the Federation created the Schwab-Rosenhouse Memorial Scholarship Foundation.  The Foundation provides scholarships for post-secondary study at colleges, universities and vocation/technical institutions within 100 miles of the Sacramento County Courthouse. All eligible high school seniors living in the greater Sacramento region may apply for these scholarships.

During the spring of 1997, The Jewish Federation appointed an advisory committee to create and administer this program.  As trustees of the Schwab-Rosenhouse Memorial Scholarship Foundation, we welcome your application and encourage each of you to take advantage of this unique opportunity.

We are honored to carry out the wishes of Mr. and Mrs. Rosenhouse, providing young people living in the greater Sacramento region the ability to pursue higher education, and essential key to a successful future.


The 2019-20 application period closed on February 7, 2019. If you have any questions about the Schwab-Rosenhouse Memorial Scholarship Fund, please contact ISTS at 855-670-ISTS (4787) or contactus@applyists.com


Who is Eligible?

Graduating high school seniors who have lived in El Dorado, Placer, Yolo or Sacramento County, California, for at least two years prior to the time of application and also meet California State residency requirements.

Students who are planning to enroll full-time at an accredited two or four year college, university or vocational/technical institution located within 100 miles of the Sacramento County Courthouse.

The Application Process

The 2019-20 program deadline is February 7, 2019. Eligible applicants should have completed the online application and submitted high school transcripts, test scores, and letters of recommendation.

Who Administers the Scholarship?

The Schwab-Rosenhouse Memorial Scholarship Fund is administered by International Scholarship and Tuition Services, Inc. (ISTS).  ISTS will manage the online application process, appoint the selection committee, notify winners and non-winners, confirm enrollment status, and work with Wells Fargo to coordinate distribution of the scholarship funds on behalf of the Schwab-Rosenhouse Memorial Scholarship Fund.

Headquartered in Nashville, Tenn., ISTS specializes in providing scholarship, grant and tuition program management services to corporations, foundations, associations and other philanthropic and gift-giving organizations.

The Selection Process

Each candidate’s academic record, school and community activities, volunteer activities, and other personal circumstances will be evaluated. Responses to questions related to future education and career plans also will be an important factor in the evaluation process. 

Scholarship Award Amounts

Schwab-Rosenhouse Memorial Scholarship awards range from $1,000 to $5,000 per year. The length of the course of study and the cost for full-time study at the selected institution will determine the actual amount received by each recipient. Financial need is a factor in setting final award amounts. Finalists will be required to submit a copy of their FAFSA Student Aid Report as part of the award setting process.

How Will Awards Be Paid?

Scholarship funds will be issued to the student's selected institution for payment of educational expenses. The student will receive a copy of the check transmittal notice confirming payment of the funds.

What Are the Recipients Responsibilities?

In keeping with the goals of the Schwab-Rosenhouse Memorial Scholarship Foundation, scholarship winners must remain enrolled full-time and be in good academic standing with a B average (3.0 GPA on a 4-point scale) or better. Along with the award notice, students will receive information and other regulations related to ongoing eligibility and enrollment requirements.

May I Accept Other Awards?

Yes, Schwab-Rosenhouse Scholars may accept any and all other awards granted to them, as long as the combined sum of scholarships, grants and loans does not exceed the total cost of attendance at their chosen college or university.